Transforming community through philanthropy.

Ian Quiet Named as 2018 Scott Griffin Award Winner

Posted on: Monday , August 27 , 2018
Posted by: 
Emily Smith

The Community Foundation of North Louisiana has named musician Ian Quiet as the winner of the G. Scott Griffin Award. The award, which features a cash prize of $1,000, is given annually to a local artist who has contributed to the community through his or her art while overcoming adversity. Quiet will be honored at a reception at Artspace on Thursday, August 30, 2018, at 5:00 PM. Other finalists for this award are Susan Duke, Tracy McComic, Jason Pliler, and Ron Smith.

Ian Quiet describes his music as having one foot in pop music and the other in experimental sound art. His works incorporate and explore hip-hop, pop, rock, electronic, new age, and many more genres. His independence drives creativity in his career and pushes him forward as he continues to pursue art on his “own terms.” He is recognized for his unique sound, innovative performance art, and ability to continually push the envelope and keep audiences on the edge of their seats.

The award is named in honor of G. Scott Griffin, who was a multi-disciplinary, multi-media artist with accomplishments in musical composition, instrumental performance, photography, and film. Because of these achievements, it was often unrecognized that Griffin overcame many adversities in the execution of his art. From his childhood, Griffin coped with a visual handicap, congenital nystagmus, which would have been reason for most talented artists to cease performing. Rather than giving up his artistic dreams, Griffin invited his audiences to join him on a journey of discovery and beauty that was possible through the lens of his camera and his varied canvases. His legendary music enchanted listeners because he played from the heart and not by sight.

Griffin died of complications related to cancer on October 7, 2007 at the age of 45. The Scott Griffin Fund was created at the Community Foundation to keep his memory alive and to honor those artists who approach their art and life with the same passion and persistence as Griffin.

Past recipients include: Larry Taz Sanchez, Aaron Cox, Bertha Cooper Harris, Angelique Feaster-Evans, Poetic X, Carlos Colón, Buddy Flett, and Bobby Darrow.


Content Image: 


Community Central now open! Learn more about renting this new state-of-the-art space!