Transforming community through philanthropy.

Nominations Sought for 2017 Griffin Award

Posted on: Thursday , June 8 , 2017
Posted by: 
Jennifer Steadman

Foundation Seeks to Recognize Local Artist Overcoming Adversity

The Community Foundation is accepting nominations for the G. Scott Griffin Award. The award, which features a cash prize, will be given to a local artist, who has overcome adversity to make a contribution to the community in the execution of his or her art. The deadline for entries is Monday, July 10, 2017, by 5 p.m. Application and guidelines can be found on The Community Foundation’s website, 

The award is named in honor of G. Scott Griffin, who was a multi-disciplinary, multi-media artist with accomplishments in musical composition, multi-instrumental performance, photography, videography, digital enhancement of art and cinematography. Because of these achievements, few people recognized that Griffin had to overcome adversity in the performance of his art. From his childhood, Griffin coped with a visual handicap, congenital nystagmus, which would have been reason for most talented artists to cease performing. Rather than giving up his artistic dreams, Griffin invited his audiences to join him on a journey of discovery and beauty that was possible through the lens of his camera and his varied canvases. His legendary music enchanted listeners because he played from the heart and not by sight.

Griffin died of complications related to cancer on October 7, 2007 at the age of 45. The G. Scott Griffin Award was created to keep his memory alive and to honor those artists who approach their art and life with the same passion and persistence as Griffin.

Past recipients include: Aaron Cox, Bertha Cooper Harris, Angelique Feaster-Evans, Poetic X, Carlos Colón, Buddy Flett and Bobby Darrow.



Community Central now open! Learn more about renting this new state-of-the-art space!