Scott Griffin Award 2024

by | Jun 19, 2024 | News

Calling All Artists – 2024 Scott Griffin Award Applications Open July 1st.

Community Foundation of North Louisiana will accept applications for the annual G. Scott Griffin Award starting July 1st, 2024. The award, which features a cash prize of $1,000, will be given to a local artist who has contributed to the community through his or her art while overcoming adversity. The deadline for entries is July 31st, 2023, at 5:00 PM. The application and guidelines can be found below. The winner will be announced publicly at an event at Artspace (date and details TBA).

The award is named in honor of G. Scott Griffin, who was a multidisciplinary, multimedia artist with accomplishments in musical composition, instrumental performance, photography, and film. Because of these achievements, it was often unrecognized that Griffin overcame many adversities in the execution of his art. From his childhood, Griffin coped with a visual handicap, congenital nystagmus, which would have been the reason for most talented artists to cease performing. Rather than giving up his artistic dreams, Griffin invited his audiences to join him on a journey of discovery and beauty that was possible through the lens of his camera and his varied canvases. His legendary music enchanted listeners because he played from the heart and not by sight.

Scott Griffin

Griffin died of complications related to cancer on October 7, 2007 at the age of 45. The Scott Griffin Fund was created at the Community Foundation to keep his memory alive and to honor those artists who approach their art and life with the same passion and persistence as Griffin.

Past recipients include: Susan Duke, Cathy Cobb, Ian Quiet, Larry Sanchez, Aaron Cox, Bertha Cooper Harris, Angelique Feaster-Evans, Poetic X, Carlos Colón, Buddy Flett, Bobby Darrow, Matthew Cipolla and Mary “ML” Dumars.

2024 Scott Griffin Award Guidelines

2024 Scott Griffin Award Application

All applications must be submitted by 5:00 PM on Wednesday, July 31st, 2024.