Transforming community through philanthropy.

G. Scott Griffin Award

This award is named in honor of G. Scott Griffin, who was a multi-disciplinary, multi-media artist with accomplishments in musical composition, multi-instrumental performance, photography, videography, digital enhancement of art and cinematography. Because of these achievements, few people recognized that Griffin had to overcome adversity in the performance of his art. From his childhood, Griffin coped with a visual handicap, congenital nystagmus, which would have been reason for most talented artists to cease performing. Rather than giving up his artistic dreams, Griffin invited his audiences to join him on a journey of discovery and beauty that was possible through the lens of his camera and his varied canvases. His legendary music enchanted listeners because he played from the heart and not by sight.

Griffin died of complications related to cancer on October 7, 2007 at the age of 45. The G. Scott Griffin Award was created to keep his memory alive and to honor those artists who approach their art and life with the same passion and persistence as Griffin.


Applications for the 2018 Scott Griffin Award are now OPEN! 

All submissions are due at 5:00 PM on Friday, August 10, 2018.

Griffin Award Guidelines 2018.pdf

2018 Griffin Award Application.pdf


Past recipeints:

2008 – Bobby Darrow

2009 – Buddy Flett

2010 – Carlos Colon

2011 – Poetic X

2012 – Angelique Fester Evans

2013 – Bertha Harris

2015 – Aaron Cox

2017 - Larry Sanchez